4 Comments
Feb 12, 2023Liked by Diamond-Michael Scott

They count. Listening, however, is a different experience and I am so trained to read with my eyes and a book in my hand that I have found it difficult not to drift away while listening to a story. I also find it difficult to highlight or underline something I love when I have no page in front of me and I do love to engage with a book that way.

Expand full comment

I belong to several "bookish" FB groups and if you want to start a riot on bookish FB, just ask, "do audiobooks count as reading." The first few comments are usually something like, "of course they count," and then someone inevitibally says, "no, they don't count as reading; reading is with your eyes so listening doesn't count." And they are off to the races.

All kinds of points are being made both for an against counting or not, but for me it comes down to, the reader is in control of their own reading life and if/how/where they track books and they can call it reading or not. I think some readers on FB ask this question just to stir up sh*t. Just my .02

Expand full comment